With the iPhone’s Focus mode, you can choose when and how you’re notified of incoming calls, messages, and app notifications, all with the goal of minimising interruptions when you’re trying to get work done.
A Definition of Focus Status Would Be Helpful
Whenever you activate a Focus routine in iOS, your contacts will be informed that you are currently unable to respond to any incoming text messages while you are preoccupied. When you choose an action to be triggered on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac, you activate what Apple calls Focus Status.
With Focus Status, a banner will appear at the bottom of all Messages threads in which you are a participant. It is up to you, however, to determine whether or not you want to let people know that you are unavailable to answer SMS. Focus Status is a kind approach to inform others that you are currently occupied and cannot respond to their messages until you have finished whatever it is you are working on.
In general, you should only let people that respect your downtime and won’t bother you unless absolutely required know your Focus Status. If they truly need to get a hold of you, they can select the Notify Anyway option to ensure that you receive their messages as usual.
What Can Be Done to Facilitate Cooperation Targeted State of Affairs
In order to share your Focus Status, all of your Apple devices must use the same Focus settings. If you don’t sync your iPhone with your iPad or iPod touch, your contacts won’t be able to tell if you’re busy or if you have a Focus active because you can’t use Focus Status on any routines.
Go to “Settings” > “Focus” to turn on shared Focus.
A Method for Broadcasting Your Attention State
When you enable Focus Status on iOS, it will be broadcast to all of your iPhone’s contacts. After creating a Focus Status, it will automatically be visible to everyone.
This means that anyone who texts you during your Focus regimen will be able to see that your iPhone’s notifications are muted. This notification appears at the bottom of a Messages chat.
How to Turn Off Focus Status for A Specific User or Re-Enable It for An Existing User
Since Focus Status is available to everyone by default, you may wish to turn it off for a specific contact whose attention you would rather not draw. Even though this person is on your Allowed People list, you may not want to hear from them while you’re trying to concentrate. If that’s the case, open the chat with the person you don’t want to share Focus Status with in the Messages app.
When I Open Messages, Why Doesn’t the Share Focus Status Button Appear?
If the Share Focus Status toggle isn’t present while viewing a contact’s information in iOS’s Messages app, then Apple has likely disabled the capability.
The ability to share Focus in the Messages app has been disabled in iOS 15.6 and later versions, which may explain why you’re experiencing this issue after updating your iPhone. You won’t be able to access the Share Focus Status setting if you turn that feature off.