Texting as a group is a great method to coordinate plans with loved ones and plan out activities. The greater the number of people in a group text, the greater the risk of things getting out of hand. When you add a new member to the group chat, they will be able to send messages to everyone’s phone. Will you really need 14 separate texts about the upcoming picnic in the park with the family? That can get tiresome fast, but you can stop it by removing yourself from the group text. But we’ll show you exactly what to do and how to accomplish it.
Take Yourself out Of a Text Conversation
And just like iOS users can’t unsubscribe from a group SMS they’ve been added to, Android users can’t do so either. If you don’t want to continue participating in the group text chat, you can ask to be removed from it, at which point the original creator of the group text will have to create a new group text message, but without you. On the other hand, you could just silence the group text, which would be far simpler.
You may easily silence a group SMS conversation. The first thing you need to do is launch the messaging app that came preinstalled on your phone (and no, we’re not talking about the Android Messages app).
Once you’ve launched Android’s default messaging app, choose the group chat you wish to silence. Messages can be seen by tapping the icon.
Read More- How to Put Your iPhone in Low Data Mode!
Choose a Menu Option by Tapping the Three Vertical Dots in The Upper Right Corner
Doing so will bring up a new window or overlay. A bell icon (in lieu of an information button) should appear at the overlay’s base, and tapping it will mute or unmute the discussion.
If you ring the bell, you’ll stop receiving those distracting notifications about the ongoing group chat. If you ever decide you want to listen to the chat again, you only need to follow the same steps.
Even though you’ve muted the call, the group chat will continue to send you messages. A number of missed group text message notifications will be indicated in a little bubble at the top of your main screen, connected to your messaging app. If you have any unread messages in your texting app, they will also show up as unread. Using this method, you can silence your phone’s notifications and alerts once and for all.
Communicating Through Facebook’s Messenger
The use of instant messaging services like Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp, and others is rapidly replacing text messaging among the general public. Thanks to an exit option in addition to hiding notifications and muting the conversation, leaving a group chat is significantly simpler in Facebook Messenger and comparable services.
Launch the Messenger app on your mobile device. If you’re using a unified account across several devices, you can exit a group chat by following these steps from either device. Click the conversation you wish to leave, and then click the group’s name at the conversation’s top. As a “name,” perhaps the collection of people involved would suffice.
In the end, you’ll arrive at the Options section. Select the option marked Chat Exit. A window will display, asking if you’re sure you want to close the chat. To finalize your selection, simply touch Leave once more.
Once you press it, the group chat conversation (at least in your instance) will be saved. Since it’s not completely removed, old messages can still be viewed in the Messenger Archives, but new ones won’t be added to the thread. When you leave a group text and select the Leave button and the Leave this conversation option, the conversation will be removed from your message history.
Just remember that if anyone in the group wants to bring you back in, they can do so at any time. If you want to avoid being re-added to a group chat after leaving it or receiving a group text from someone you’d like not talk to again, you’ll need to block that particular message or the person who added you.
Read More- How to Remove Tik Tok Filter from Video
The Android messaging app makes it nearly hard to unsubscribe from a group chat. In contrast to when you use iOS 12 on an iPhone. You’ll be stuck in the chat until you either leave or begin blocking the other person’s phone number. There are options to mute chats or conceal alerts if you don’t want to be notified. As an alternative, using an IM service like Facebook Messenger makes it simple to exit a group chat. This is protected work. Copy right 2020.